This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

X-T2 vs X-T3

Discussion in 'X-T3, X-T2, X-T1, X-T20, X-T10, X-T100' started by LionSpeed, Sep 7, 2018.

  1. M4cr0s

    M4cr0s Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    185

    -Return to Top-

    I'm in the same boat. Had planned to preorder the T3 for at least a year. And I did. Then came a promotion with 50% off of the grip. Cancel. Re-preorder :p Going for silver. My only fear is the slightly lower contrast on the dials vs white on black.
     
    Lumens likes this.
  2. pixelstate

    pixelstate Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    370
    Location:
    United Kingdom

    -Return to Top-

    I went to try out the X-T3 the other day... like the fool I am I forgot to take my RRS base plate for a fit-test! Doh...
    From a visual inspection and from on-line research I think that plates should fit but the grip will not (due in part to pin location changes)

    Please login or register to view links... seems like a super-charged X-T2
     
  3. pixelstate

    pixelstate Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    370
    Location:
    United Kingdom

    -Return to Top-

    I never had much of a problem with the diopter on the X-T2 and was concerned about the 'watch crown' action of the new diopter on the X-T3 but having used it it seems to be well designed... easy to grip and adjust and felt solid.
     
  4. Macro

    Macro Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    231

    -Return to Top-

    Will you be going back soon? ;)
    Many X-T2 users are wondering if they'll need to spend another $180 for a new plate.
     
  5. Lumens

    Lumens Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ

    -Return to Top-

    That's the impression I had gotten from the reviews, left me hesitating on my purchase quite a bit. Most improvements appear to be in video which I don't do - the rest is better sensor/faster(better) AF - Good, but still nothing new that I cannot already do with my XT-2.

    I have been thinking about a second camera so with the "Chinese" price I can't resist. I have been using the XT-1 as a backup, but with all the firmware improvements on the XT-2 the XT-1 is a backup ONLY - to be used if desperate - definitely not a second camera. The "VALUE" of the XT-3 just puts the competition to shame - it will be nice to have a second camera to carry a second lens.
     
  6. Lumens

    Lumens Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ

    -Return to Top-

    For my XT-2 I bought a cheap plate off Amazon for about $40. It has served me extremely well for the price - as good if not better than the $180 brand. I'll do the same for the XT-3 if the XT-2 plate does not fit.
     
    AnthonyM likes this.
  7. Greybeard Photography

    Greybeard Photography Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    124

    -Return to Top-

    The MHG-XT2 grip is a thing of beauty and very functional - but £119 for a piece of metal - from online pictures the shape has definitely changed so I'm not hopeful.
     
  8. Macro

    Macro Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    231

    -Return to Top-

    While clamped in an Arca clamp in portrait orientation, most L-brackets do not provide adequate clearance to attach a cable to the left-side ports. Either the open port door flap hits the clamp, or the attached cable hits the clamp.

    RRS did solve that problem with the X-T2.

    Work-arounds with the X-T3 may be easier as the port door is removable and the remote port is now located on the upper right side above the card slots. The remaining left-side ports may still be compromised while clamped in an L-Bracket in portrait orientation.
     
  9. Lumens

    Lumens Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ

    -Return to Top-

    I must've gotten lucky as my cheapy worked fine - I am able to connect the left side ports, but then I won't say it is easy.
     
  10. digitalpatriot

    digitalpatriot New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    XT2 w/ grip owner here. I pre-ordered the XT3 in silver w/ grip. So excited. Thanks for these comparisons. I really hope it's delivered to my house on September 21. I haven't seen any word on when they'll actually ship or if they have enough units to ship.

    Selling my 10/10 XT2, estimated 13k clicks on it, for 900. Posting it up on the bay once my T3 arrives!
     
  11. fzdp

    fzdp Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    European Union

    -Return to Top-

    You just have to buy a cheap plate but with TWO screws. If you do not mind estethics it is easy to make it work with the left side ports for about 1€ for longer screws. It works for remote cable release from Canon.

    IMG_20180915_120851550-01-01.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018
  12. LionSpeed

    LionSpeed Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    SoCal

    -Return to Top-

    Just a few more days until the arrival of my T3-Argentum.
    .... waiting a tat impatiently!

    LS.
     
    fugu 82-2 likes this.
  13. Ish

    Ish Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,522
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, UK

    -Return to Top-

    I think this may be because the eyepiece looks as though it comes out further at the back. The minimum depth of the camera is the same

    X-T2
    132.5mm (W) x 91.8mm (H) x 49.2mm (D) (minimum depth 35.4mm)

    X-T3
    132.5mm (W) x 92.8mm (H) x 58.8mm (D) (minimum depth 35.4mm)
     
  14. LionSpeed

    LionSpeed Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    SoCal

    -Return to Top-

    I guess most of you already know this. Grip from T2 won't work with T3 due to different location of the pins. :(

    001.jpg
     
  15. Greybeard Photography

    Greybeard Photography Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    124

    -Return to Top-

    Yes - had heard that - still nothing definitive on the other grip - Fuji MHG-XT2 grip
     
  16. roalk

    roalk Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia

    -Return to Top-

    The key here seems to be the use of the pins to locate the grip. Can anyone who owns the MHG-XT2 clarify if it uses the locating pins?

    I own the MHG for the X-T1 and there are no pins on that model so if the MHG-XT2 doesn't use the pins there's a good chance it will fit the X-T3 as well.
     
  17. Greybeard Photography

    Greybeard Photography Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    124

    -Return to Top-

    No pins - I'm more concerned with the change in the camera grip shape
     
  18. LionSpeed

    LionSpeed Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    SoCal

    -Return to Top-

    My T3-Argentum has been updated from "back order" to "processing" this morning.
    Let's go! :)
     
    Ish likes this.
  19. Ish

    Ish Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,522
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, UK

    -Return to Top-

    Yay! Looking forward to hearing all about it :)
     
  20. MickM

    MickM Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5

    -Return to Top-

    Can anyone tell me if the function buttons on the X-T3 are the same size as those on the X-T2? Also, do they stand out more from the body than on the older model? Perhaps the only criticism of my X-T2 is that I find the function buttons a little small and would prefer not to attach Sugru to make them more tactile. Many thanks.
     

Share This Page

  1. fujix-forum.com uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice