This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

X-E2S shows Body Version 4.0

Discussion in 'X-E1, X-E2, X-E2S, X-E3' started by VintageJim, Sep 13, 2018.

  1. VintageJim

    VintageJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Michigan

    -Return to Top-

    I am the second owner of a X-E2S. I just tried to update the firmware to v1.11. I fresh-formatted a SD card, downloaded the firmware on my MacBook Pro, copied the firmware to the SD card, properly ejected the card from the computer, put the card into the X-E2S, switched on the camera holding the DISP/BACK button, said to upgrade body firmware, camera said no firmware on card. I verified the 1.11 firmware was indeed on the card.
    Further investigation shows that the Body Version says 4.0. Can I assume the former owner upgraded the camera with x-E2 firmware? Is it possible some early X-E2S were shipped with X-E2 firmware? Should I try to update to X-E2 4.11 firmware?

    Hoping someone here has input or been down a similar path.
     
  2. robert

    robert Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16,244
    Likes Received:
    5,675
    Location:
    Austin

    -Return to Top-

    Are you sure it's an X-E2S?
     
  3. tijuana taxi

    tijuana taxi Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK

    -Return to Top-

    I suppose someone of dubious character could use the case of a X-E2s and the innards of an E2.
     
  4. robert

    robert Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16,244
    Likes Received:
    5,675
    Location:
    Austin

    -Return to Top-

    See if it updates to 4.11.

    Where did you get this camera?
     
  5. VintageJim

    VintageJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Michigan

    -Return to Top-

    Yes. 100% . I had hoped I put in enough detail in my post, but here's this...

    XE2S - 1.jpg XE2S - 3.jpg XE2S - 2.jpg
     
  6. VintageJim

    VintageJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Michigan

    -Return to Top-

    Private individual. She purchased from Adorama this past December. I have all the boxes, manuals, etc. I am 100% certain this is an X-E2s.
     
  7. VintageJim

    VintageJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Michigan

    -Return to Top-

    Also, is there any appreciable difference between 4.11 for the X-E2 and 1.10 for the X-E2S?
     
  8. fujixacros

    fujixacros Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Fr

    -Return to Top-

    Hello,

    1 -Do you have the initial invoice of this camera body that mentions the type and the name of the body ?

    2 - Would it be possible to change the top cover with the name of the body ?

    3 - What do the EXIFs say about your photos?

    Ps: really the same dimensions.

    Fujifilm-X-E2S-vs-Fujifilm-X-E2-size-comparison.jpg
     
  9. VintageJim

    VintageJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Michigan

    -Return to Top-

    Ahhhh... Peeking at the EXIF, it says it's an X-E2.

    BUT... I have all the original packing and manuals. The serial number on the camera matches the box.

    Occam's razor taken into account, she "upgraded the firmware with the X-E2 firmware. My guess is the camera recognized v4.0 as greater than v1.0 and allowed the "upgrade."
     
  10. Goldingd

    Goldingd Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Anaheim CA

    -Return to Top-

    So, try this, import an image into your computer, and look at the metadata, what camera is listed?
     
  11. SixstringSlinger

    SixstringSlinger Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    SoCal, USA

    -Return to Top-

    Hmm, I recently upgraded the firmware in my new X-t100. I got the same "no firmware error" when I fired up the camera. I found that I miss-clicked when I went to copy the file from my downloads and selected firmware for another model body. Once I got the correct file on the SDcard it worked perfectly.

    Possibly my error can help someone else. I'll certainly be more careful the next time.
     
  12. Goldingd

    Goldingd Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Anaheim CA

    -Return to Top-

    Ah, one difference on the back of the cameras, bottom left Function button, labeled Fn2 on X-E2, Auto on X-E2S

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    got that from: Please login or register to view links

    And a bit of change on the grip, from the front notice a bit of difference:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Those two from: Please login or register to view links and if yougo to that site, and look closer at the images, notice a difference in the grips surface where yur fingers would be touching. and of course the signage X-E2 vs X-E2S
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2018
  13. VintageJim

    VintageJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Michigan

    -Return to Top-

    The body is 100% a X-E2S. Serial number on camera matches the box. Camera would NOT let me "upgrade" from 4.0 to 4.11. I just tried.
     
  14. tijuana taxi

    tijuana taxi Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK

    -Return to Top-

    So you can't upgrade from 4.0 to either 4.11 or 1.11

    Think the answer is return the camera for a refund as it's faulty
     
  15. Goldingd

    Goldingd Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Anaheim CA

    -Return to Top-

    Ok, was wondering if a way exists to check serial numbers to see what a camera reportedly is at Fujifilm, assuming the S/N is not forged. So far, just perhaps contacting Fujifilm, at perhaps this site: Please login or register to view links

    edit/corrected link
     
  16. zen

    zen Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    new jersey

    -Return to Top-

    whats the name of the firmware file that you are putting on the card? is it EXACTLY "FWUP0009.DAT" ? if the file is anything other than what i just posted, the camera will not recognise the file.
     
    VintageJim likes this.
  17. VintageJim

    VintageJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Michigan

    -Return to Top-

    Yes, that's the file.
     
  18. VintageJim

    VintageJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Michigan

    -Return to Top-

    XE2S screen - 1.jpg
    Above image is with the X-ES2 v1.11 firmware, FWUP0009.DAT.

    XE2S screen - 2.jpg
    This is when I try the X-ES firmware v4.11. FWUP0004.DAT.

    I tried with SD cards formatted with the camera and with cards formatted MS-DOS FAT with my MackBook Pro.
    I re-downloaded the FWUP0009.DAT file and tried again.

    Very curious.

    XE2S screen - 2.jpg
     
  19. robert

    robert Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16,244
    Likes Received:
    5,675
    Location:
    Austin

    -Return to Top-

    Can you fix the typos in the data under those pics?

    X-ES?

    X-ES2?
     
  20. GregWard

    GregWard Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4,857
    Likes Received:
    1,990
    Location:
    London

    -Return to Top-

    I'm not suggesting you do this. But, as a possible explanation for how the camera got to be like this, I wonder if the X-E2 and X-E2S firmware are close enough to fool the validation by changing the filename? Like I say - I'm not suggesting you try to change the filename (I think that risks digging the camera into an even worse hole) but could it be that the previous owner changed the filename of the v4 firmware to fool the camera into accepting the upgrade?

    As far as your situation is concerned then I think you might need to talk to Fuji. Unless, of course, you're happy with the camera the way it is? That might mean not upgrading the firmware - but you could always talk to Fuji later if necessary?
     
    VintageJim likes this.

Share This Page

  1. fujix-forum.com uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice