This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

What's the purpose of the rumored GFX 50R (Fuji's medium format digital rangefinder)?

Discussion in 'Fujifilm X News & Rumors' started by HansA, Dec 6, 2017.

1. HansA

HansA Member

-Return to Top-

Hi,

As far as I understand, the two generations of X-Pros with their OVF are made to be used primarily with semi wide angle to short telephoto prime lenses and thus particularly suitable for street photography - I'm wondering what would be the case with the future/rumored GFX 50R (R for rangefinder)?

It would certainly be bigger (compared to X-Pro), heavier, and as an interchangeable lens system, won't be compact either. Would it be marketed to people who just prefer the rangefinder as opposed to SLR form factor? As a complete beginner to photography, I seem to see that image quality doesn't sit particularly high on the list for street photographers. I know that some of you have been using medium format film rangefinders, perhaps you could give some idea on why people would choose the GF's future RF compared to SLR format?;)

2. HansA

HansA Member

-Return to Top-

Well, as I read further that the price is supposed to be around 2/3 (around $4000) of the current GFX 50s, it could be a nice but still very pricey "gateway drug" to the Fuji's digital medium format system.

Could look nice with the GF63mm on..., still big though. Can't wait to see. Maybe Fuji can offer them as a bundle for $4500.

3. jptsr1

jptsr1 Premium Member

-Return to Top-

Right in my wheelhouse (price-wise anyway). Cant wait for the reviews. I want to see how it does against the 5Ds dollar value for dollar value.

Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
  4. monst

monst Premium Member

-Return to Top-

It would be nice if they did make a real rangefinder again. Used to love the 6x9 Fuji's

5. JonPB

JonPB Member

-Return to Top-