This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

The Importance of a Moment in Time

Discussion in 'Personal Blogs Links' started by IMPhotography, Aug 7, 2018.

1. IMPhotography

IMPhotography Premium Member

-Return to Top-

Good evening everybody,

How are you?

I have a new blog post up that I thought I would share, discussing the parallel between life and art and the importance of capturing that perfect moment when out shooting:

Please login or register to view links

I hope everyone is doing well! :)

Cheers,

Ian

Luis Costa, Stephen_B and rayvonn like this.
  2. David Schneider

David Schneider Premium Member

-Return to Top-

I'm a full time portrait photographer, studio owner, and frequent traveler/photographer, though I've done things like 7 years of sports photography, some weddings, other things. I come from a family of artists.

I believe most of the time when people talk about "art" and photography in the same breath, they are mistaken. I believe photographers want to be considered artists when they are not.

The overwhelming amount of time, excellent photography is about being an excellent craftsman, not a wonderful artist. The number of true artists with a camera is very limited. Most of the time (though not all of the time) we are craftsmen. The article bears this out when talking about finding the perfect moment. There is little difference in waiting for the perfect moment and then clicking the shutter or taking 10 frames a second for two minutes and then selecting the perfect moment from those images.