This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Help! Best Fuji lense for handheld video

Discussion in 'General X Camera Forum' started by Thomas Christensen, Sep 13, 2017.

1. Thomas Christensen

Thomas Christensen New Member

-Return to Top-

Hi Fuji guys,

Just to make it short, I am quite new to Fuji and my current setup is a X-T2 with the 18-55mm F2.8-4 and a 23mm F2.

I have now been looking for some time for a good or hopefully the best lense for video. The type of video I am doing is mostly just handheld video, not running gun but handheld when standing still and walking slowly. I have not really been able to find out what to get. A lot of people are recommending the 18-55 2.8-4 but I don’t really like that lense because of the image quality and the variable aperture makes it very bad for video. The 23mm F2 I have is actually damn good and it feels super steady for video, but some times I miss the zoom functionality. I have been looking at the 16-55 F2.8 with the red badge as a sign of Fuji’s Pro lense line up but I can see that it is not OIS and I don’t have that much experience with lenses so I hope someone in here can help me in the right direction. Maybe OIS doesn’t make that much of a difference on wide zooms, I mean I can’t really feel that my prime dosent have it?

Fujifilm X-T2 is absolutely amzing for video work and doing video with primes is no big deal, but having a great zoom would be ideal in most cases.

Thank you all in advance.

//Thomas

Zuri likes this.
  2. beakhammer

beakhammer Premium Member

-Return to Top-

I am not much of a video shooter, but if you can get along without OIS I would fool around with some adapted manual focus lenses. Minolta is a good inexpensive place to start.

3. Fujicronippon

Fujicronippon Member

-Return to Top-

Hi Thomas,