This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

First Star/Milky Way Attempt

Discussion in 'Photo Critique Forum' started by Skylark, May 16, 2018.

1. Skylark

Skylark Premium Member

-Return to Top-

I have been wanting to try some Star/Milky Way shots, got round to it last night, I stay in a reasonably built up area with plenty of street lights so I'm surprised it came out seemingly as well as it did.

XT10 18mm at F2 ISO 800 17sec on tripod.

The focus infinity setting on the 18mm is way out, you need to manually focus using the zoom in feature, almost in line with the 10m distance mark on the rear screen is about spot on.

I'm new to astrophotography so I would appreciate tips and criticisms.

One question I have is it seems that getting tack sharp images of stars is not really possible, even if you nailed focus, used a tripod and short enough time to prevent star trails it'll look like a bit of a mess when you zoom in/pixel peep?

2018 05 16 Milky Way stars-14-2_resize.jpg

2018 05 16 Milky Way stars-9-2-2_resize.jpg

Last edited: May 16, 2018
  2. Skylark

Skylark Premium Member

-Return to Top-

Also what size images should I be resized to and should I embed full size images or use the thumbnails feature with zoom to click?

The same resized pics posted above looks nice and crisp on my computer but a little washed out and blurry after uploading and viewing it in the browser

Last edited: May 16, 2018
  3. Mdelrossi

Mdelrossi Active Member

-Return to Top-

Nice shot!, Astro photography is something I've been meaning to get into. Check these guys out for help, Please login or register to view links.
    mdr

4. ojporqpojrewpo

ojporqpojrewpo Premium Member

-Return to Top-

I am surprised that you got so much detail with ISO800 and 17s. Where do you live? Is the sky really dark there?

5. Skylark

Skylark Premium Member

-Return to Top-