This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Are old adapted lens sharp with fuji sensors

Discussion in 'Adapted Lens Forum' started by Iancass, Jun 12, 2018.

1. Iancass

Iancass New Member

-Return to Top-

I am a newbie with regards to adapted lenses world and was wondering if the images are going to be slightly soft compared to newer lens made today?? I am sure they are!! but to what extent? I would like a decent 50mm+ lens but not sure its going to get the best out of my modern 24 mp sensors. Or is it more about getting that vintage look? TIA

2. leoda1945

leoda1945 Premium Member

-Return to Top-

If you like Fuji lens output and are driven to "squeeze the best out of your Fuji sensor" (whatever that means) , you will be very hard pressed to find a vintage lens that outguns Fuji at it's own (modern) game.
    There are other threads and comments (by myself and lots of others) on this and similar questions down in this sub-forum.

3. robert

robert Administrator Staff Member

-Return to Top-

50mm lenses are usually excellent, going back decades, from almost any brand. But the performance will depend on the individual lens, resolution, contrast, flare control will all vary.

It's really up to the viewer. Some people prefer a more vintage look with older coatings and lower resolution and contrast, some people prefer biting sharp resolution and high contrast...luckily there are a zillion options at every price level. :)

leoda1945 likes this.
  4. Finder

Finder Premium Member

-Return to Top-

From a 90mm Minolta Rokkor f/4 on an X Pro2.

This is cropped from the sensor.

[​IMG]

This is just a 1:1 crop:

[​IMG]

YogiMik likes this.
  5. cbass

cbass Premium Member

-Return to Top-

Depends on the lens. I have some adapted lenses that are as sharp as any Fuji glass I have. Others that are soft and lower contrast.

6. cpu8088

cpu8088 Well-Known Member